UK Alumni Association Announces 2014 Great Teacher Award Recipients

Each year, the University of Kentucky Alumni Association recognizes six professors for outstanding teaching and honors them with a plaque and a cash award at a recognition luncheon or dinner. It is the oldest, continuously-given award for teachers at the University of Kentucky.

The six recipients of the award are announced at a luncheon or dinner, attended by students, other faculty and past recipients of the awards. They are then recognized at center court on the floor of Rupp Arena.

Since 1961, when the program was started, 271 faculty members have been honored. Recipients are selected by a committee appointed by the UK Alumni Association's Board of Directors and representatives of the student organization Omicron Delta Kappa.

Candidates must:

  • Hold the rank of full-time lecturer or above and have been a member of the UK faculty for the past three years.

  • Have superior knowledge of their subject matter.

  • Have original and innovative classroom presentations.

  • Demonstrate concern for students, both inside and outside the University setting.

  • Not have been a recipient of this award for the past ten years.

Dr. Zaki-Udin Hassan, professor of anesthesiology and surgery at the UK College of Medicine, has served as an anesthesiologist at UK for more than 12 years, specializing in cardiothoracic anesthesia and liver transplant anesthesia. Teaching both inside the operating room and through use of simulation education, Hassan works with students at all levels, including those in residency and advanced practitioner programs. He was responsible for bringing the first high-fidelity patient simulator to UK in 1999. Outside of the classroom, Hassan has published numerous peer reviewed journal articles, presented at several speaking engagements at the local, state, national and international levels and has served as an author of three textbooks. Other recognitions Hassan has received for his teaching efforts include the Provost’s Award for Outstanding Teaching in 2008 and numerous Abraham Flexner Master Educator Awards, including a special recognition in 2008 as a five-star master educator. Hassan is a graduate of Charing Cross Medical School and Westminster Medical School at the University of London. He also held various house officer roles in the United Kingdom and later completed his anesthesiology residency at the University of Kentucky.

Dr. Paul Murphy, professor at the UK College of Medicine, is a course director for a first-year medical student course and co-course director for two other courses. He previously served more than 10 years as course director for the UK medical student pathology course. Murphy has been presented with several awards during his time at the university, including the Golden Podium Award, which he has received 10 times, and the Golden Apple Award (11-time recipient). Other recognitions include five-time winner of the Outstanding Third Year Professor Award, three-time winner of the Abraham Flexner Master Educator Award, and most recently, the Silver Pointer Award for best first-year instructor. He was also elected as a faculty member of the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Student Honor Society in 2006 by his students. Murphy received his bachelor’s degree from Boston College, having graduated summa cum laude. He received his master’s degree from the University of Massachusetts in 1982, and later completed pathology residency training at the University of Rochester Medical Science and a fellowship in transfusion medicine at Upstate Medical Center in Syracuse. Prior to coming to work at the university, Murphy was employed by the Mayo Clinic and American Red Cross.

Other recipients of this award outside of the College of Medicine are: Mark Coyne, College of Agriculture, Food and Environment, Jonathan M. Golding, College of Arts and Sciences, Jerzy W. Jaromczyk, College of Engineering, and Cyndy Miller, College of Communication and Information